Australia Day Honours 2024

The 2024 Australia Day Honours list recognises and celebrates 1,042 Australians, including awards in the Order of Australia (General and Military Divisions), meritorious awards and recognition for distinguished and conspicuous service.

The following list includes awards related to media including for television and radio broadcasting.

The media notes here are abridged for full notes see: Full award list

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the General Division

Ms Margaret Fink, NSW

For distinguished service to the arts as a film and television producer, and as a supporter of the visual arts community.

Film Industry

• Co-Producer, Candy, 2006.

• Producer, Edens Lost, 1988.

• Co-Producer, For Love Alone, 1986.

• Producer, My Brilliant Career, 1979.

• Producer, The Removalists, 1975.

• Former Director, Finkfilm Production.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the General Division

Mr David James Koch

For significant service to media as a television presenter, and to economic journalism.

Seven Network

• Co-host, Sunrise, 2002-2023.

• Presenter, Kochie’s Business Insider, 2007-2020.

Mr John Gregory Foreman OAM, VIC

For significant service to the performing arts, particularly music, and to the community.

Aussie Pops Orchestra

• Director, since 2019.

• Conductor, 2012-2017.

• Former Guest Conductor.

Director Roles

• Musical Director, Vision Australia’s Carols by Candlelight, since 2003.

• Musical Director, Logie Awards, 2009 - 2022.

• Musical Director, The Lord Mayor’s Christmas Carols, Brisbane, 2014 - 2019.

• Creative Director, Australia Day Production, 2015.

• Musical Director, The Oprah Winfrey Show Australian Final.

Mr Max Lambert, Newtown NSW

For significant service to music, and to the performing arts.

Musical Director

• Expo 2020, Dubai, United Arab Emirates, 2021-2022.

• Sydney New Year’s Eve Celebrations in 2007-2009.

• Opening and Closing Ceremonies, 15th Asian Games, Doha, Qatar, 2005.

• Opening and Closing Ceremonies, XVII Commonwealth Games, Manchester, 2002. Opening and Closing Ceremonies, Gay Games, Sydney, 2002.

• Opening and Closing Ceremonies, Games of the XXVII Olympiad, Sydney, 2000.

• The Boy from Oz, 1998.

Ms Sandra Lee Sully

For significant service to the media, to charitable organisations, and to the community.

Ten Network Holdings Ltd - Paramount Australia and New Zealand

• Presenter, Senior Editor, and Producer, since 1990.

• Presenter, Journalist, Ten News Sydney, since 2011.

• Presenter, Journalist, Ten Eyewitness News Brisbane.

• Managing News Editor, Ten Daily website, since 2018.

• Presenter, Short Black with Sandra Sully, podcast series, 2019.

• Co-Presenter, Wanted, 2013.

• Presenter, Journalist, Ten Late News with Sports Tonight, 1994-2011.

• Co-Presenter, Ten Eyewitness News: First at Five, 1993.

• Co-Presenter, Good Morning Australia, 1992.

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division

Mrs Majida Abboud-Saab, NSW

For service to the Arab community, and to the media.

Special Broadcasting Service

• Executive Producer, Arabic Language Section, 1996-2013.

• Program Manager, 1998.

• Deputy Station Manager, SBS Radio, 1994-1996.

• Information Producer, 1980-1987.

• Researcher, Presenter and Journalist, SCOOP, and Vox Populi, SBS TV, 1980-1981.

Mr Francis (Frank) Neville Avis, Oakhurst NSW 2761

For service to broadcast media, particularly radio.


• News Director, 2GB, 1980s.

• A range of roles at various stations, including Triple M, 2-DAY FM, 3AK, 3DB, 6PR, and 3MP, 1954- 1996.

Mr Victor Alhadeff, NSW

For service to the Jewish community, and to the media.


• Non-Executive Director, since 2021.

• Chair, SBS Community Advisory Committee, current.

• Member, SBS Audit and Risk Committee, current.

• Member, Codes Committee, current.

Ms Fiona Bamford-Bracher, VIC

For service to community radio.

3RRR - 102.7FM

• Volunteer Presenter, since 1997.

• Presenter and Producer, Monday Drive Time Show, since 2014.

• Presenter, Morning Show, 2000-2014.

• Volunteer, since 1991.

• Trainer, since 2013.

Mr Craig Bennett, Surfers Paradise QLD

For service to broadcast media as an entertainment journalist.


• Entertainment Reporter, Studio 10, since 2013.

• Radio Host, 2UE, since 1985.

• Radio Presenter 2GB, since 2016.

• Entertainment Reporter, various programs, 40 years.

Mr Wayne Geoffrey Buttner, Rippleside VIC

For service to the print media, and to the community.

Geelong Advertiser, News Corp Australia

• General Manager, 2011-2012, and 2017-2020.

• Real Estate General Manager, 2016-2017.

• Chair, Geelong Advertiser Scholarship Trust, c2012.

News Corp Australia

• General Manager, Community Newspaper Group, Perth, 2005-2011.

• Editor-in-Chief, Leader Newspapers, Melbourne, 1997-2005.

• Sub-Editor and Features Editor, The Herald and Weekly Times, Melbourne, 1981-1994.

Miss Gail Margaret Eastaway, Cooma NSW

For service to the print media, and to the community.

Monaro Media Group

• Co-Owner, and Editor, Monaro Post, 2006-2022.

• Co-Owner, and Editor, Your Coastal Life, until 2022.

• Co-Owner, and Editor, The Snowpost, 2009-2022.

Ms Denise Hylands, Newport VIC

For service to community radio.

Triple R FM

• Host, Twang, current.

• Former Host, Breakfasters program.

• Former Host, The Selection Show.

• Volunteer Presenter, since 1984.

Ms Kathleen Letch, Preston VIC

For service to the broadcast media, particularly to community radio.

Community Broadcasting Association of Australia

• Consultant, Digital Radio Project, since 2014.

• General Manager, 2010-2013.

• Digital Radio Project Manager, 2009-2010.

• Former President, three years.

• Board Member, 1994-1999.

• Former Member, Advisory Committee, Australian Music Radio Airplay Project.

• Former Chair and Member, Community Radio Digital Consultative Committee.

Mr Daniel Michael Oakes, VIC

For service to journalism.

Australian Broadcasting Corporation

• Senior Investigative Journalist, Investigations Team, since 2013.

The Age newspaper

• Crime Editor, 2012-2013.

• Defence and Foreign Affairs Correspondent, 2010-2012.

• Telecommunications Reporter, 2009-2010.

• Police Reporter, 2006-2009.

• Sports Reporter, 2004-2006.

Mr Peter Charles Waterman, Griffith ACT

For service to the media as a journalist.

Pharmacy Guild of Australia

• Senior Media Advisor and Communications Specialist, since 2015.

• Director of Communications, 2002-2005.


• Freelance Health Journalist, current.

Ms Jennifer Woodward, QLD

For service to the broadcast media, particularly to television.

Television and Radio

• Weather Presenter, ABC Queensland, since 1986.

• Producer, Channel 7, early-1980s.

• News and Weather Presenter, hosting various programs, DDQ Toowoomba, 1975-1981.

• Spirit of Xmas Concerts, ABC TV and Queensland Performing Arts Centre (Qpac).

• The Weather Quarter, ABC News Channel, 2011-2014.

• Weather Presenter, ABC Radio, Brisbane and Gold Coast, since 2012.

ABC report

1 Like

John Foreman, creative director of the Australia Day celebration in Sydney and being acknowledged for his Australia Day honour during ABC coverage

1 Like