Travel & Holidays

The European Union (EU) has confirmed Australia is on its list of 14 countries whose citizens will be allowed to visit the bloc from today.

Australia has been included, along with Canada, Japan, Morocco and South Korea, the BBC reports.

However Australians at home still cannot travel abroad for holiday purposes with citizens still barred from leaving the country unless they have very specific circumstances, such as essential business in critical industries, to deliver aid abroad, travel in the national interest and unavoidable personal business.

Border controls have been lifted inside the EU, meaning tourists can travel freely between countries once inside.

Also on the safe list are Algeria, Georgia, Montenegro, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.


Today marks 50 years since Melbourne Airport at Tullamarine opened for business. There will be a commemorative poster in the Sunday Herald Sun this weekend.
Nine News Melbourne has produced this clip to mark the milestone with Peter Hitchener presenting.


Front page of The Age, 2 July 1970.


Can’t wait to put that on my wall. I can’t believe I’ve had to wait this long for a poster of an airport. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Kind of ironic that exactly 50 years on, air traffic would be at their lowest levels ever since thanks to the pandemic.

and still no train line…


Is he green screened onto the set and that second full screen shot?

I think Hitch was only green screened onto the second full screen shot.

1 Like

Former Victorian premiers Jeff Kennett, Steve Bracks and Ted Baillieu are now calling for the train line to be built.

And yet none of them did it when they had the chance…


Jeff Kennett signed off on the initial City Link contract, which prevented the rail line to be built as it was deemed a competing project with the tollway.

1 Like

Reports that Virgin Australia’s new owner Bain Capital it set to axe 4,000 employees from the group.

These positions will be long haul staff, pilots, non operational staff and from defunct airline TigerAir.

The new exemptions mean people arriving from selected countries will be able to enter England without needing to self-isolate, unless they have been in or travelled through non-exempt countries in the preceding 14 days.

The 59 countries and territories included in the list are: Andorra, Germany, New Zealand, Antigua and Barbuda, Greece, Norway, Aruba, Greenland, Poland, Australia, Grenada, Réunion, Austria, Guadeloupe, San Marino, Bahamas, Hong Kong, Serbia, Barbados, Hungary, Seychelles, Belgium, Iceland, South Korea, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Italy, Spain, Croatia, Jamaica, St Barthélemy, Curaçao, Japan, St Kitts and Nevis, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, St Lucia, Czech Republic, Lithuania, St Pierre and Miquelon, Denmark, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Dominica, Macau, Taiwan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Trinidad and Tobago, Fiji, Mauritius, Turkey, Finland, Monaco, Vatican City, France, Netherlands, Vietnam, French Polynesia, New Caledonia.


I suspect their ATR-serviced routes on the east coast wont return either

Hard to say considering Bain haven’t really detailed what they’re doing with VARA (who operate the ATR fleet even though VARA is based out of WA).

If they do pull out of the ATR serviced routes, it wouldn’t surprise me if Alliance suddenly pop-up on them (considering they’ve launched some QLD routes in recent months).

1 Like

VA were tinkering with the regional routes before coronavirus, supposedly VA are claiming you can fly from September on some of these routes.

REX have signed an agreement with ATR as well to “modernise” their fleet (which isnt hard given they run SAAB 340s), maybe they will fill the void


First Qantas and Virgin will need to start flights between Adelaide and Hobart, and between Sydney and Hobart.

1 Like
Get Connected: Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter