Seven Cricket Coverage


#605

I think a lot would agree with you, even though I admittedly am absolutely not one of these.

You see, apart from the iconic SCG itsself (which has also retained the historic membes stand unlike the MCG during the re-development 15 years ago)…

Since when has the Sydney test been even on par with the iconic Boxing Day Test?

There wouldn’t be a Melburnian who would agree with that, though I can certainly see envious Sydney-siders who would love it to be mentioned as such and hence I think particularly the term “New Years Test” was coined contemporary and facilitated by Nine in recent decade or so.

Adelaide used to have NY test didn’t they, though I’m not the older demographic to confirm that.

But seriously, the Boxing Day Test is the Boxing Day Test. I’ve always called the Sydney test - just that or the “5th Test” or the “SCG Test”.

100%. And I highly recommend it.

If any MS members would like to come to Melbourne and see a test, I’ll get you into the Melbourne Cricket Club :slightly_smiling_face: @OnAir still keen? :wink:

Well it usually always buckets cats and dogs in Sydney in summer, for some reason bang on SCG test time :wink: :wink:


#606

I had a feeling you’d turn this into a Sydney vs Melbourne thing which is why I mentioned Melbourne before Sydney in my post. Surely you would agree the Sydney test is special to Sydneysiders for the same reason the Melbourne match is special to your people.

I spat my cuppa all over myself when you derided Sydney’s weather.

Let’s stick to discussing Seven’s cricket coverage from here on out. We have a thread dedicated to Sydney vs Melbourne, I seldom venture into, for anyone who cares enough to discuss the merits of the cities.


#607

What?


#608

You’re probably thinking of the Australia Day Test which during the late 80s into the 90s was a regular event.

The Melbourne test was traditionally held over New Years before being locked into Boxing Day ( with some exceptions) during the 1980s.


#609

Whoops! Bad typo. Fixed.

Although Sydney are known for their deadly Funnel Web :stuck_out_tongue:


#610

I think most people from those states would agree the Boxing Day/NY tests are bigger/more prominent and wouldn’t try to make it a state v state battle.

As @NewsWeary has pointed out, he’s in the twilight of his career. 7 will be managing him carefully, especially given his former ill health and how unwell he’s looked at times this year (Comm Games).

Good for you. Cricket Australia calls it the New Year’s test and it is a common turn of phrase…

Perhaps next year. I’ll hold you to that.


#611

Just on that, I do agree but in recent times (spring racing carnival) I thought he’s been looking a bit better, seemed to have more energy and high spirits, even did that hilarious “one more time” video?


#612

It is wrong. They are lying and should avoid doing so when the number of viewers watching their networks is in free fall. Integrity matters more than ever in this climate.


#613

I tend to agree. But we all know Seven and Nine love publicity as much as the next Bachelor so I wouldn’t expect them to stop crowing about it anytime soon.


#614

No I wouldn’t either but would hope people persist in calling them out on it. And reminding people they can only watch every game live (and ad-free) on Fox Cricket – the real home of cricket on tv.


#615

And you’d be wrong…
I want to watch the Sheffield Shield, I guess I’ll flick it onto Fox Sports. Oh no, wait, they dont have rights to it…


#616

Seriously not worth their while.


#617

Why would the rights prevent coverage being moved to 7mate?


#618

Said nobody ever.


#619

Nine never did in recent years, tests. So assumed there was something stopping them? Affected Nine News ratings severely.


#620

Well I was streaming the Qld v Vic match yesterday.


#621

WBBL

Seven’s WBBL coverage starts this Saturday December 1 LIVE from the Junction Oval with a big weekend festival of cricket.

All eight teams will take to the field over two action-packed days of cricket to launch the WBBL 4 season.

Seven will broadcast more women’s cricket than ever on free-to-air this summer including 23 WBBL matches.

Reigning champions the Sydney Sixers appear the team to beat as Alyssa Healy aims to continue her stunning form from the World T20, while Perth welcome Meg Lanning for her long-awaited Scorchers debut.

Fresh from their triumph at the ICC World T20, the Aussie stars will take to the field for their WBBL teams including:

Nicole Bolton Perth Scorchers
Nicola Carey Sydney Thunder
Ashleigh Gardener Sydney Sixers
Rachael Haynes Sydney Thunder
Alyssa Healy Sydney Sixers
Jess Jonassen Brisbane Heat
Delissa Kimmince Brisbane Heat
Meg Lanning Perth Scorchers
Sophie Molineux Melbourne Renegades
Beth Mooney Brisbane Heat
Ellyse Perry Sydney Sixers
Megan Schutt Adelaide Strikers
Elyse Villani Perth Scorchers
Tayla Vlaeminck Melbourne Renegades
Georgia Wareham Melbourne Renegades

Indian super star batter Harmanpreet Kaur steps out for Sydney Thunder leading a swag of top internationals in this summer’s WBBL including:

  • West Indians Stefanie Taylor (Sydney Thunder) and Hayley Matthews (Hobart Hurricanes)
  • Kiwi batting pair Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers)
  • Melbourne Renegades stars Amy Satterthwaite, seamer Lea Tahuhu and England’s star striker Danni Wyatt
  • South African big hitter Lizelle Lee for the Melbourne Stars
  • Sydney Sixers three quality international stars Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekirk and Sara McGlashan.

Abbey Gelmi, Andy Maher and Jason Richardson host Seven’s WBBL coverage throughout the summer with expert commentary from Lisa Sthalekar, Julia Price and Dirk Nannes.

Fans of the cricket will be able to keep up to date with all of the action by following @7Cricket on social. With match updates, interviews and features, @7Cricket is the place to get your cricket fix.


#622

Broadcast Dates and Times for WBBL

Saturday December 1

WBBL – Perth Scorchers v Hobart Hurricanes
Sydney 10.30am LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 10.30am LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 9.30am LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 10am LIVE on 7mate
Perth 7.30am LIVE on 7mate

Saturday December 1

WBBL – Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 1pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 10.30am LIVE on 7mate

Sunday December 2

WBBL – Adelaide Strikers v Brisbane Heat
Sydney 10.30am LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 10.30am LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 9.30am LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 10am LIVE on 7mate
Perth 7.30am LIVE on 7mate

Sunday December 2

WBBL – Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 1pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 10.30am LIVE on 7mate

Friday December 7

WBBL – Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers
Sydney 7.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 7.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 6.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 6.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 4.00pm LIVE on 7mate

Saturday December 8

WBBL – Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers
Sydney 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 2.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11.30am LIVE on 7mate

Saturday December 8

WBBL – Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder
Sydney 7.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 7.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 6.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 6.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 4.00pm LIVE on 7mate

Sunday December 9

WBBL – Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat
Sydney 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 2.00pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11.30am LIVE on 7mate

Saturday December 15

WBBL – Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Thunder
Sydney 2pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11am LIVE on 7mate

Sunday December 16

WBBL – Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 1pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 10.30am LIVE on 7mate

Friday December 21

WBBL – Sydney Thunder v Hobart Hurricanes
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Sunday December 23

WBBL – Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Stars
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Wednesday December 26
WBBL – Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat
Sydney 10.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 10.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 9.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 10.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 7.30pm LIVE on Channel 7

Sunday December 30

WBBL – Hobart Hurricanes v Brisbane Heat
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 1pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 10.30am LIVE on 7mate

Monday December 31

WBBL – Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Wednesday January 2
WBBL – Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers
Sydney 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 2pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11.30am LIVE on 7mate

Thursday January 3

WBBL – Melbourne Renegades v Hobart Hurricanes
Sydney 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 2pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11.30am LIVE on 7mate

Tuesday January 8

WBBL - Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Thursday January 10

WBBL – Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Monday January 14

WBBL – Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers
Sydney 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Melbourne 2.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 1.30pm LIVE on 7mate
Adelaide 2pm LIVE on 7mate
Perth 11.30am LIVE on 7mate

Saturday January 19

WBBL Semi Final
Sydney 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 9.30am LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 10.00am LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 7.30am LIVE on 7mate

Saturday January 19

WBBL Semi Final
Sydney 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 1.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 12.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 1.00pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 10.30am LIVE on Channel 7

Saturday January 26

WBBL Final
Sydney 10.00am LIVE on Channel 7
Melbourne 10.00am LIVE on Channel 7
Brisbane 9.00am LIVE on 7mate, 10.00am LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 9.30am LIVE on 7mate, 10.00am LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 7.00am LIVE on 7mate


#623

The side effect of separating women’s BBL from men’s BBL competition is that many women’s matches will clash against men’s tests on Seven.


#624

they are planning it to be October-late november