Tags: #<Tag:0x00007fa32bfd2ca0>
1 Like

Monday 5 August at 9:35 pm

  • Jason Falinski, Liberal MP for Mackellar

  • Katy Gallagher, Shadow Minister for Finance

  • Zali Steggall, Independent for Warringah

  • Cassandra Goldie, CEO of Australian Council of Social Service

  • Adam Creighton, Economics Editor, The Australian

With Tony Jones back hosting next week.

Monday 12 August at 9:35 pm

  • A. C. Grayling, Philosopher and author

  • Alan Tudge, Minister for Population, Cities and Urban Infrastructure

  • Terri Butler, Shadow Minister for the Environment and Water

  • Clare Wright, Historian, author and broadcaster

  • Li Shee Su, People’s Panellist

1 Like


1 Like

Monday 19 August at 9:35 pm


The Indigenous Voice

  • Noel Pearson, Founder, Cape York Partnership

  • Linda Burney, Shadow Minister for Indigenous Australians

  • Julian Leeser, Chair of Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition

  • Jacinta Price, Director of Indigenous Program, CIS

  • Patricia Turner, CEO of National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation


1 Like

Monday 26 August at 9:35 pm


Q&A High School Special

  • Gladys Berejiklian, NSW Premier

  • Kristina Keneally, Senator for NSW

  • William Gillett, Loxton, SA

  • Aurora Matchett, Miranda, NSW

  • Willoughby Duff, Booragoon, WA

  • Varsha Yajman, Asquith, NSW

1 Like

Peter McEvoy to farewell the ABC after three-decade career

Peter McEvoy, the creator and Executive Producer of Q&A , has announced he will leave the ABC at the end of 2019.

After a three-decade career at the ABC, including creating Q&A 12 years ago and working to see it established as Australia’s leading current affairs discussion program, McEvoy said he was ready to move on to other challenges.

“In 2007 we set out to make an innovative, audience-focused program that would challenge, explain and shape national discourse,” he said. “I’m proud of the way we have achieved that consistently and in such an entertaining way over that period.”

ABC Managing Director David Anderson described McEvoy as a respected journalist and broadcast professional in the eyes of his ABC colleagues and across the industry.

Q&A is the most successful discussion-based national affairs program in ABC history,” Mr Anderson said. “Peter has made an incredibly significant contribution to public broadcasting and national current affairs.

“Within the ABC he is renowned and respected as a journalist and creative program maker. He has mentored many younger journalists and producers in their careers, and I know his departure from the ABC will be felt by many of us.”

Q&A started in May 2008 with recently elected Prime Minister Kevin Rudd as its first guest. Since then more than 400 episodes have been broadcast, featuring politicians and leading public figures including Indigenous leaders, authors, religious leaders, scientists, philosophers and analysts as well as ordinary Australians who auditioned to become “People’s Panelists”.

Mr McEvoy said: “The aim was to create a live, nationally televised event that brings political leaders face to face with Australian voters and allows interaction with hundreds of thousands in the viewing and online audience as well as the hundreds in the studio audience.

“We not only achieved that but have seen Q&A become a weekly part of the national agenda.”

Peter McEvoy first joined the ABC in the late 1980s at Triple J and went on to work as a reporter and producer for ABC TV and ABC Radio, in Alice Springs, at Radio National, on programs including RN Breakfast, Late Night Live, Background Briefing and Four Corners, and as EP of Media Watch from 2000-2006, before creating Q&A.

He has received numerous awards for his journalism, among them five Walkley Awards, including the Gold Walkley.

“It’s been a great run and I want to thank to ABC for three decades of opportunity,” he said. “I want to especially thank the wonderful team I have worked with over the last 12 years.

“The inimitable Tony Jones of course, but also the faces you don’t see. The indefatigable audience production team who recruit a balanced and engaged audience every week. The senior producers who share the editorial load. The studio team who make the show look great whether we’re in Mackay, Launceston, Garma or Shanghai.

“A flagship program like Q&A is only possible at an ambitious public broadcaster with the skills and enthusiasm of hundreds of my ABC colleagues who have been part of this great project over the last 12 years.

“I look forward to watching Q&A as it continues to evolve in the future.”

The Australian reported yesterday that the ABC is considering moving Q&A to a 8.30pm timeslot on Tuesday or Thursday next year, coinciding with the departures of Tony Jones and Peter McEvoy.

1 Like

If Q&A moves to Tuesday or Thursday, can the ABC please consider extending the duration of Media Watch?

Anyone who follows the media landscape knows that all of about 12 minutes (plus a few more if you count the online-only “Media Bites” program) is nowhere near enough to properly recap the week’s events these days.

1 Like

Monday 2 September at 9:35pm


Writers on Q&A

  • Lionel Shriver, Journalist and Author

  • DeRay Mckesson, Civil rights activist

  • Ruby Hamad, Journalist and Author

  • Benjamin Law, Writer and broadcaster

  • Steve Coll, Dean of Columbia Journalism School


Monday 9 September at 9:35pm


  • Zed Seselja, Assistant Minister for Finance, Charities and Electoral Matters

  • Anne Aly, Dr Anne Aly is the Labor MP for the Perth metropolitan seat of Cowan, which she won in the 2016 election.

  • Jordon Steele-John, Greens Senator for WA. Jordon Steele-John is Australia’s youngest senator who journeys with a disability.

  • Danielle Wood, Budget Policy and Institutional Reform Program Director, Grattan Institute

  • Greg Sheridan, The Australian newspaper’s foreign editor and is one of Australia’s most respected and influential analysts of domestic and international politics.

Fran Kelly will be hosting next Monday’s show.

Monday 16 September at 9:35pm


Q&A is live from Sydney with host Tony Jones

  • James Paterson, Liberal Senator for Victoria

  • Madeleine King, Shadow Minister for Trade. Madeleine King has been the Member for the seat of Brand, in WA, since the 2016 election.

  • Eva Cox, Author and social analyst

  • Sam Dastyari, Former NSW Labor Senator Sam Dastyari resigned from Parliament in 2017.

  • John Lee, China expert, United States Studies Centre

1 Like

The Executive Producer role has been publicly advertised:

There has been a change to the September 16 line-up, with Brigid Meney replaced by John Lee, China expert, United States Studies Centre.

Monday 23 September at 9:35pm


  • Kerry O’Brien, Legendary Journalist and Author. Kerry O’Brien is a prominent Australian journalist and author whose long career includes 28 years as a national current affairs television presenter and interviewer.

  • Jan Fran, Media Commentator and Broadcaster. Jan Fran is the creator, writer and presenter of the online opinion segment, The Frant, and her videos have been viewed more than 20 million times.

  • Paul Fletcher, Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts

  • Chris Bowen, Shadow Minister for Health. Western Sydney MP Chris Bowen was appointed the Shadow Minister for Health by incoming opposition leader Anthony Albanese following Labor’s 2019 federal election loss.

  • Dai Le, Dai Le is a Councillor to Fairfield City Council and former award-winning journalist, film-maker and broadcaster with the ABC.


Get Connected: Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter